Photography: Canon EOS 20D DSLR and wedding photography business

I enjoy doing photography, though I’m the really amateur photographer. Photography became my little business. Time to time I do wedding photography, children photography and some nature photography. Currently I have Canon EOS 20D digital SLR. I would that this camera is a little more than the amateur photographer would need :). After using a DSLR for some time I got used to it so much, that when the point and shoot camera gets to my hands I immediately start complaining about little picture control :). On a DSLR there are so many things you can control and Canon does a good job on putting all the needed controls throughout the camera body. You can easily and quickly change a certain setting like ISO or shutter speed when you know where those controls are.

Wedding photography. Wedding photography is a good business, though this kind of photography requires much skills and definitely a good imagination :). A good camera and set of lens would be as well useful. Usually I work with Canon EFS 17-85mm, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4.0 and Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 lenses. This set allows to do wide angle pictures as well as close-ups with good depth of filed feeling (especially the Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 lens, which is not that expensive). I was encouraged to buy the EF 50mm lens by many pictures I saw on Flickr taken specifically with this lens. Ok, the business itself. The average cost for a wedding shooting is $500-$700. The price includes the 8am-8pm shooting day plus numerous hours of retouching and fixing the pictures. Usually up to 20. Slideshow on a DVD will add another $100 and another couple of work hours. The $700 prices excludes the wedding album, which costs up to $400. Albums are done not quite often, instead the couple prefers to do the album themselves. So generally it is a not bad business for a college student. All you need to do is to earn good reputation on the market and have a couple of clients a month (which does not happen quite often during your first steps).

You can check out my photography work on my Flickr page at http://flickr.com/photos/freeborn

Leave a Reply

